Once upon a time, but too long ago, there was a girl.

Well, not really a girl.

In her early teens, she was no longer a child squishing mud in-between her toes and fingers after storm clouds had dumped soaking rain over the large backyard of the family home. Nor, after bath time did she hug her favourite teddy bear.

But then again, she was not quite yet grown up either.

An awkward in-betweener, she tried to work out her place in the world. Listening to her peers at school and their ever growing list of how things should be, the girl just sighed. To her, their ‘rules’ seemed elusive and out of reach.

Still, that did not stop the girl, on occasion, from becoming wistful.

One such time was on a Sunday morning. With the bright sunny day shining through the bathroom windows she looked at her image reflected from the bathroom mirror and said:

If only I was
Shorter,
If only I was
Smarter,
If only I was
A child of
Rich parents,
How much
Better
My life
Would be.

If only I was
Wittier,
If only I was
Thinner,
If only I was
Prettier,
How
Wonderful
My life
Would be.

If only I was
Quicker,
If only I was
Funnier,
If only I was
Well, more:
Imagine
How
Complete
I’d be.

Well, that was back then.

The girl grew up to live a life with its share of grief, joy, pain, relief, frustration, regret, love, and laughter.

And older and wiser that she is now, she has come to understand:

But really,
Even truer
Is what
Lies within.

Best served
Warm
Against the
Contrariness
Of
Life
And folk
Is the
Awareness
Of
Self.

Appreciative,
Not only of
Limitations,
But also of
One’s
Strengths,
Experience,
Abilities,
And
Expertise.

An appreciation
So informed
To form
A more
Balanced view
Of self,
Holding fast
An
Inner resiliency.

No need then
To bother
With wishful
‘If only…’ thinking.

Copyright uncapIdeas 2015

Leave a Reply

